Protect Yourself And Your Family

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Long-Term Care Planning
  4.  » The levels of long-term care covered by insurance

The levels of long-term care covered by insurance

Long-term care is a broad term that covers several possible medical services. Not everyone needs long-term care during their life, but everyone should at least plan for that scenario.

According to the Administration for Community Living, once you turn 65, there is a 70 percent chance you will need assistive living in your remaining years. It is in your best interest to start planning before you need help performing basic activities. See below for the different levels of long-term care and how you might implement them in your life.

Custodial care

Custodial care requires the least amount of skill to implement. This care involves someone helping you with your daily activities such as dressing, bathing or grocery shopping. says that the provider does not need medical skills. However, the custodian must be under the supervision of a doctor.

Intermediate care

Licensed and trained nurses provide intermediate care; however, it is not constant supervision. Nurses or supervised nurse’s aides provide treatment at the area designated by an insurance company. It can be at your own home but may require you to go to a facility.

Skilled care

Finally, skilled care is ongoing treatment and supervision provided by medical professionals. Doctors consult with you or your family members about their recommended treatment and care plan. You may hire a live-in nurse or move into a treatment facility. depending on the situation

You need to understand the different levels of long-term care because they affect what Medicare or other insurance policies cover. Consult with your doctor if you believe you or a family member needs long-term care soon.